Our Team

Executive Director

Program Assistant

FASD Prevention Coordinator

Board of Directors

  • Board of Directors

    The Arc of Mecklenburg County is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors consisting of people who are involved in various aspects of our community. Each board member contributes something unique and works diligently to ensure that our agency has the strategies and tools in place to continue to grow and serve our community. The Board focuses mainly on advocacy, planning, and relationship building.


    Board members advocate at local, state, and national levels for and with people with disabilities and their families. Together we work to ensure disability policies and legislation represent the best interest of children and adults living with disabilities and their families. Advocacy is an important part of the board member's role.


    The board works hard to ensure that we have a strategic plan in place that helps us to reach our goals. Every year they engage in a strategic planning session to develop the goals and strategies that enable us to carry-out our mission effectively and efficiently. Board members' involvement in the planning process is important for proper oversight and to the health of our organization.

    Relationship Building

    Board member's help to secure support of our mission and cause within our community through their various connections and networks. The board also engages in and supports our fundraising efforts to make sure that we have the financial means to carry-out our mission. A board member's connection to the community is valuable to our ability to procure of funds and solicit support.

    The Board meets every other month with committees actively meeting in the months between Board meetings.

    If you are interested in joining our board please contact Nancy Hughes at 704-332-4535.


  • Board Members
    • Casey Hammeke
    • Melissa DuPont
    • Katie Buerkett
    • Will Buerkett
    • Heather Nodeland
    • Dellyne Samuel
    • Christopher Lilley
    • Robert Russo
    • Taryn George
  • Executive Members
    • President: Eric Welch
    • Vice President: Rich Barker
    • Secretary: Diana Moser-Burg
    • Treasurer: Matthew Gardner
    • Past President: Ryan Platt